Governing Board

Governing Body of the Commission

The governing body of the Commission is appointed by the President in accordance with article 70 of the Constitution. It ensures the proper and effective performance of the functions of the Commission.
It consists of:  

1.   The President of the Republic as the Chairperson

2.   The Ministers responsible for:

            *   Health

            *   Gender, Children and Social Protection and

            *   Local Government and Rural Development

3.   The Director-General of the Commission
4.   The Director-General of the Ghana Health Service
5.   The Executive Director of the National Population Council
6.   The Government Statistician
7.   The President of the Network of Associations of Persons Living with HIV
8.   Two representatives of Parliament
9.   One representative each nominated by
             *   A Christian Group and
             *   The Federation of Muslim and Ahmadiyya Mission
10.  One representative of the National House of Chiefs
11.  One representative of the Ghana Employers Association
11.  One representative of a labor organization and

12.  Two persons with expertise on matters relating to HIV and AIDS, one of whom is a female

Statutory Committees of the Commission
The Statutory Committees established by the Board are:

Programmes Committee
Research, Monitoring and Evaluations Committee
Legal and Ethics Committee
HIV and AIDS Fund Management Committee

be the first to know

Subscribe to our newsletter and get informed on current HIV/AIDS cases in Ghana


The Ghana AIDS Commission is a supra-ministerial and multi-sectoral body established under the Chairmanship of H. E. the President of the Republic of Ghana by Act 2016, Act 938 of Parliament. The objective of the Commission is to formulate policy on the HIV and AIDS epidemic and...

find out more  

Our partners
contact us
  • Ghana AIDS Commission,
    4th Floor, Ghana Olympic Committee Building,

  •   +233-(0)302-919259